Can you have the same last pocket in pool?
If your opponent sinks his or her last object ball in your last pocket, you can select another last pocket for your adversary.” Also, on A-Z found one thread containing: “Another rule is that both players cannot have the same last pocket”, which was a statement by a single player.
What does it mean to choose a pocket for the next shot?
That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. Choosing Your Ball Group.
Do you lose in last pocket if you scratch?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What are the rules in last pocket?
In last pocket 8-ball, you must pocket the 8-ball in the same pocket where you put your last object ball. If you were shooting stripes and made your final striped ball in the far right pocket, then that makes it your last pocket.
What happens if you make your last ball and 8-ball at the same time?
In this case, you do not lose because scratching on an 8-ball shot is not an automatic loss. The second player receives a chance to position and pocket any remaining balls. If you pocket the 8-ball and then your last ball, this is also a lost game because you pocketed the 8-ball before all of your balls were pocketed.
What are the rules for last pocket 8-ball?
In standard 8-ball, the player who drops the 8-ball into any pocket wins. In last pocket 8-ball, you must pocket the 8-ball in the same pocket where you put your last object ball. If you were shooting stripes and made your final striped ball in the far right pocket, then that makes it your last pocket.
How do you end the game of 8-ball?
A game of 8-ball pool ends when a player legally sinks the 8-ball after pocketing all of the numbered balls in his or her group.
How do you play last pocket in pool?
What happens if you don’t call the pocket for the 8-ball?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
What happens if you hit the 8-ball in after your last ball?
Rule 3.8c says that the shooter loses if he pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket. Furthermore, Rule 3.6 says that every shot must be called (except for the break) AND says that “The eight ball may be called only after the shot on which the shooter’s group has been cleared from the table.”
Do you have to hit the 8-ball on last shot?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
What’s the last ball you hit in pool?
You’ll establish who plays which at the beginning of the game after the break. You don’t pocket the 8-ball until the end of the game. When you have pocketed all your balls, you take aim at the 8-ball. The first player to pocket all his or her balls and then pocket the 8-ball is the winner.
What happens if the 8-ball goes in after last ball?
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
Pocking the white ball in pool results in a foul, and your opponent gets ball in hand. There are two ways this foul is handled depending on the rules you’re using and the timing of the foul. They will either: Be able to either place the white ball anywhere on the table.
What is a Massey shot?
: a shot in billiards or pool made by hitting the cue ball vertically or nearly vertically on the side to drive it around one ball in order to strike another.
Is jumping the cue ball legal?
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
What do you call a good pool player?
Most billiard players are called exactly that – “billiard players”, or sometimes “pool players” or even “players” when the context is understood. A really good pool player, however, is often referred to as a “pool shark”.